We're a hawk on the issues.

Four Washington Electors Refuse to Vote for Clinton

Four Democratic electors refused to vote for Hillary Clinton on Monday when they cast their votes as members of the Electoral College.

The Hill reports:

Three of the state’s 12 electors voted instead for former Secretary of State Colin Powell, and one voted for Faith Spotted Eagle, a Sioux tribe elder who has led protests against the Dakota Access Pipeline in North Dakota.

Clinton was allotted all 12 of the state’s electoral votes on Election Day, when she beat Donald Trump with 54 percent of the vote.

For vice president, Clinton’s running mate Virginia Sen. Tim Kaine received eight votes, and Sen. Elizabeth Warren (Mass.), Sen. Maria Cantwell (Wash.), Sen. Susan Collins (Maine) and environmentalist Winona LaDuke each received one vote.

Electoral College voters around the country convened in their respective states to formally certify the Election Day results Monday.

While anti-Trump groups called for GOP electors to try to block him from winning the necessary 270 votes, the effort appeared to fall flat. As of Monday afternoon, no Republican electors had strayed from Trump.

However, three other Democratic electors in Maine, Colorado and Minnesota tried to cast their votes for someone other than Clinton, but were barred due to state laws.

The nominees’ final anticipated totals on Election Day were 306 for Trump and 232 for Clinton.

Photo credit: CNN / Screenshot.

About the author